Super Rugby Team of the Year 2018- Best SR players 2018 season

Here is the Super Rugby team of the year 2018, as officially announced by the competition’s governing body SANZAAR. Interestingly enough, the Crusaders, who successfully defended their crown, have only one representative- left winger George Bridge, thus showing that there were more of a “team” rather than depending on individual brilliance.

The Chiefs, who were eliminated in the quarterfinals, have four players- Brodie Retallick, Damien McKenzie, Anton Lienert Brown and Alaimalo. McKenzie was also named the Player of the Year.

South Africa’s dominance in the forwards is clear- half the pack is from SA Super Rugby sides, but they don’t have even one representative in the backs.

Super Rugby Team of the Season 2018

Front Row (Props + Hooker)– Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Taniela Tupou (Reds)
Locks– Brodie Retallick (Chiefs), Lood de Jager (Bulls)
Back Row– Pablo Matera (Jaguares), Jean-luc du Preez (Sharks), Akira Ioane (Blues)
Half backs– TJ Perenara (Hurricanes), Damian McKenzie (Chiefs)
Centres– Michael Little (Sunwolves), Anton Lienert Brown (Chiefs)
Wings– George Bridge (Crusaders), Solomon Alaimalo (Chiefs)
Full back
– Israel Folau (Waratahs)

SR Team of the Season 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *